Back to top

Susan Groenke, Director of CCYAL, Named Chair of 2015 ALAN Award Committee

Susan Groenke, Director of the CCYAL, has been named Chair of the 2015 ALAN Award Committee. The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN) presents an annual ALAN Award to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of adolescent literature. The recipient may be a publisher, author, librarian, scholar, editor, or servant to the organization. Each year, an honoree is chosen by the Executive Board and receives the ALAN Award at the annual ALAN breakfast, which is held early morning Saturday during the NCTE Convention. A list of past honorees includes David Levithan, Judy Blume, Jack Gantos, Louise Rosenblatt, Sharon Draper, Jacqueline Woodson, Walter Dean Myers, Teri Lesesne, and Mildred Taylor.


CCYAL Chosen as Carnegie Community Partnership Exemplar

Carnegie SealWe are proud to announce that the Center for Children's and Young Adult Literature was chosen as a Carnegie exemplary community partnership! UT Knoxville has earned the 2015 Carnegie Community Engagement Classification for collaborating with community partners to address society’s most pressing needs. The prestigious Carnegie engagement classification recognizes colleges’ and universities’ commitments to strengthening the bond between campus and community.


Subscribe to Center for Children's & Young Adult Literature RSS